Portraits and Why I Love Taking Them

Welcome back Viewer! Sorry for the long wait for a new post. Frankly being a college student means I get cheap internet. On occasions the wifi on my internet will just die, leaving me with the sad “Could Not Load Page: Please Refresh.” Doesn’t seeing that on your browser just suck? Yeah it really does, but for me it gives me a lot more time to stay away from Facebook and go outside and take pictures! Today I wanted to bring to you one of the most common type of photography done today. You see it a lot in magazines, it happens to your child every year, you even get one taken for your business profile. Yes I am talking about Portraiture. When I was introduced to photography I was really seeing the landscapes around me and capturing those places through the lens of my camera. After looking through many photos and noticing that a lot of landscapes look good with a person in the shot somewhere I decided that I would start to know more about portraiture. This past session at school I learned some awesome techniques that aided me in my quest to create amazing portraits. In some of the photos you will see below, I have used these techniques to create amazing looking portraits and have captured certain people I wanted to portray! Since I started to shoot portraiture I have started to see a couple of new things. First I have started to see lighting direction and the quality of light. Second I have noticed that I get a lot of personal satisfaction when I take a great portrait. Something about the way the light hits their face and the emotion that can be brought up in their portrait gives me that spark to keep shooting more and more! These are some current photos from the past couple weeks. Enjoy, and don’t be afraid to go out and learn something brand new!

Comments
3 Responses to “Portraits and Why I Love Taking Them”
  1. Erin says:

    Hey Bryan,

    I LOVE portraits and these are awesome. So glad you have a blog now 🙂 I can’t wait for more posts.

    I am developing a love for photography too and wanted to say thanks for helping to spark my interest. It has been an amazing experience. I have a totally different view of the world around me and really enjoy being creative.

    So, in the spirit of sharing photos, here is the best portrait I’ve taken so far….

  2. joel says:

    hahha look at grandma wit her stunna shades on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

