A Big Welcome Back Post

Hello fellow viewer! Wow how it has been a long time. I’m very sorry for being gone for so long. School really got the best of me and I didn’t find enough time to get myself to write post here. It’s been six months and wow the classes I have taken really were intense, and knowledgable. I warn you now, this is going to be  very image stimulating post. I want to share with everyone here what the past three main photo classes have done for me. First off, when I left you all I was just leaving my visual design class, and heading into a class called Lighting Theory. In this class we learned everything there was to how to lighting works from our portable flashes. For me I was shooting with Canon so I was using my trusty 580 EX2.

Above is an image I took of this flash we were using. Lighting Theory was a class full of a lot of math problem solving, and technical assignments. Since this was the theory behind lighting I had a lot of time to read up on photo books, and I even picked up a very good book. It’s called “The Speedliters Handbook.” If you are interested in this I would recommend picking it up. It truly opened my eyes to the theory. Along with this class I had a lab class that taught us a lot of really random yet useful techniques in photoshop, but the one I had the most fun with was creating a composite. This came in handy later on but during Lighting Theory I had fun with it. Below are images from this class, along with the composite’s I had done.

Lighting Theory really taught me a lot. The next class I was excited the most about. This class introduced us to studio strobes. Lighting People was the name of the class, and I knew I was going to love this class because I wanted to know more about how to light people correctly and creatively. I came to find out this class was a lot harder than I thought. I felt the stress building for the first time when it came to my grade at this school. Even though I felt stress and didn’t have the best grade I came out with a more clear mind on how the business works and some great photos! Below are some of the photos from this class that I took, Enjoy!

Finally after the Lighting People class I took the Lighting Studio class. Oh my god, this class is all about shooting products, something I have never shot and was not looking forward to shooting. We didn’t have a lot of assignments so not a lot of work load, but since these products had to look perfect. This was the most recent class I took and I still feel the dreaded long days I had, but it was well worth it. I learned a lot of tricks that I probably would not have learned by myself. This class was interesting and I learned to like it after awhile. I came out with a few shots that were good, so here they are below.

So that is what i’ve been up to in the past 6 months. Currently I’m out trying to find new ways to light people, aka catch lights, backgrounds, and qualities of light. I will update soon, thank you very much for stopping by and going through everything! You are the best viewer, no really you are!

Comments
One Response to “A Big Welcome Back Post”
  1. Nice shots, I really like the Low-Key shots.

    Raven

Leave a Reply

